Newt Gingrich Named to Defense Policy Board in Newest Pentagon Shakeup

Former Republican House Speaker Newt Gingrich and several others were appointed to the Defense Policy Board, according to Pentagon head Christopher C. Miller.

Other than Gingrich, Ambassador Thomas Carter, Dr. Edward Luttwak, Mr. Scott O’Grady, Mr. Thomas Stewart, the Honorable Randy Forbes, Senator Robert Smith, and Ambassador Charles Glazer were appointed to the Defense Policy Board, said Miller.
“Today, I’m proud to announce the addition of these eight new members to the Department’s Defense Policy Board,” Miller said in a statement on Monday. “These incoming members bring extensive defense and national security affairs experience to this advisory committee from their time in Congress, the State Department, our armed forces, and beyond. I’m confident the Department of Defense will benefit greatly from their time and service to the board.”
The Defense Policy Board is a federal advisory committee that typically consists of former high profile national security officials who “provide the Secretary of Defense and the Deputy Secretary of Defense, independent, informed advice and opinions concerning matters of defense policy in response to specific tasks from the Secretary of Defense, the Deputy Secretary of Defense,” according to the Department of Defense’s website.

In late November, Miller removed a number of former board members, including former Secretaries of State Madeleine Albright and Henry Kissinger, as well as former House Intelligence committee Jane Harman and former House Majority Leader Eric Cantor.

This item sells for $39.95 on Amazon. Today's special promotion is offering a massive discount on this item. President Trump 2020 Coin (Gold & Silver Plated) - Claim 1 Free OR Claim a Discount + Free Shipping This coin is a symbol of President Trump's victory and success. Get Coin HERE Or Click on the image bellow.

Over the past month or so, President Donald Trump has been making shakeups at the DOD, including the appointment of Miller. Miller was named as the acting DOD secretary after former Secretary Mark Esper was fired by the president, just several days after the Nov. 3 election.
Trump and Miller also removed members of the Defense Business Board—which provides Pentagon leaders with advice on business management—and on Dec. 9, the DOD announced that China policy expert Michael Pillsbury will serve as the Chair of the Defense Policy Board, and former National Nuclear Security Administration (NNSA) Administrator Lisa Gordon-Hagerty will also be a member.

The head of the Pentagon’s Defeat ISIS Task Force, Christopher Maier, also resigned on Nov. 30, according to reports.

On Nov. 18, Miller made an announcement to troops at Fort Bragg, North Carolina, that he has directed the assistant secretary of defense for special operations and low-intensity conflict to report directly to him. Such a move will allow the DOD to be ahead of the “great power competition with Russia and China as well as combating transnational threats,” the DOD’s website said.
“This reform will immediately improve agility to the department and the command and will enable us to streamline information flow, enhance decision making, and more adaptively and adeptly support our commanders and their superb soldiers, sailors, airmen, and Marines,” Miller told troops last month.

The shakeup at the DOD drew criticism from Democratic members of Congress in November.
“Whatever the reason, casting aside a Secretary of Defense during the volatile days of transition seems to neglect the President’s most important duty: to protect our national security,” wrote Rep. Elissa Slotkin (D-Mich.), a former CIA analyst and Pentagon official, on Twitter last month.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button